---
title: "Work Planner Permissions"
description: "Work Planner Permissions"
url: https://support.mosaicapp.com/en/articles/737-work-planner-permissions
collection: "Member Hub - Permission Levels and Access Guide"
updated: 2026-10-12
language: en
---

# Work Planner Permissions

Work Planner Permissions

**Work Planners** have access to the **Workload** and **Planner** pages, enabling them to schedule **Project Phases** and **Work Plans** for team members. They are also authorized to view hours in the **Project > Budget** tab and to edit **Work Plan** hours, which directly affect the hours displayed in the **Budget** tab. **Personal Projects** remain inaccessible to **Work Planners**.

**Work Planners** can be assigned either **Can Edit** or **View Only** permissions.

> **Info:** The View Only and Can Edit options only apply to Work Plans. Other permissions will be controlled by [Org Settings > Permissions Settings](https://support.mosaicapp.com/en/articles/120-organization-settings-permissions.md)

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/E4cxfawY6TR8XaJmyP5Y5w0EfkCzFNCd1371Z9bt6CYaP1ynuzysuY9WIvqAeA0u3YvPFic92HR.png)

Each permission level includes scope options:

-   **All Projects**
    
-   **Projects where they are a Member**
    
-   **Projects where they are a Project Manager**
    

These options provide granular control over which **Projects** the **Work Planner** can access and manage.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/b0c9PtRy5PtonGkor9rKJ46EQwUj93ts2y5F4nwHn3h4kNuF69G9YIm1kUJutwI0jzFl5EDUS4V.png)

For those who require visibility into **Work Plans** without the risk of making unintended changes, assigning **Work Planners** with **View Only** access provides an ideal solution. This permission allows the **Work Planner** to review **Work Plans** across all **Projects** or only those where they are a **Member**.

To enable active management of **Work Plans**, the **Can Edit** option can be assigned instead. This grants the **Work Planner** editing capabilities, ensuring that **Work Plans** remain current and accurate.

## Projects they are a member (View only) permission

### **Project Page**

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/Xy1jdf8MHjkETbQ8tb8k6kHAd9kFMk3xcSRfSDmY1hfyU3DhgucIJ9PesPRMr4dr5wMas5caAgW.png)

Work Planners can still access the projects from the Project sidebar, even when they are not a member of that project.

### **Planner Page**

**Work Planners** can only select **Projects** where they are a **Member** within the **Planner Space** and do not have permission to create new **Work Plans**.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/uDrRQWPai3rYaKdHEBVLqvICV64IJMHSD4uFDEHrBjcdd3a46DDqh9CTnvj4Cnq5eajk0lhgbEt.png)

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/u0wXGZgrUtGmue2nTsfErOBnbkC0GGvb6S0SyPiLIigUnkZR9E97zAr35qZymUVphenywWD4AYU.png)

### **Workload Page**

Work Planner

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/8RSLA3riRJe3lCRqwYXWLcKsaEgEJrg5I1U547YmlF7HjkWELzg78LdU45sKwEC6wQHLLrOk1XW.png)

Admin

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/RhOtrIE74G6vKTTKiNsyjl6WwMpkOLCwvOl8g3O3adJcOktVhyqOVIlUMgKzzLBakBF4Kxo93yd.png)

The **Work Planner** is a **Member** of the _Riverstone Place_ **Project**, but not of the _New Data1_ **Project**. As a result, the **Work Planner** cannot view details of **Alice’s Work Plan** on the _New Data1_ **Project**. However, **Alice’s** total scheduled hours—including those from **Work Plans** on _New Data1_—will still appear in the **Workload** view.

### **Reports Page**

Projects that the Work Planner does not have access to will appear as private and will not display any detailed information.

## Projects they are a Project Manager (View only) permission

### **Planner Page**

Work Planner

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/jlghoZ55eXBNCu9MD6LyFNnANMnbHX5vOPqhMtd7fTLTPSZRia1M6Lqv6sg3UC5Pv4OjAS9xiL3.png)

Admin

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/DfbNLqYcNxACkEp48MnMeuITFHqL5nrvLiB3QinfQlDBShZG8jPIgl18YFDevX2K2zwGKPY9hBE.png)

The Work Planner is a member of the Member Project but not the Not a member Project, and also a Project Manager in PM Project. As you can see on the screenshot, when the Work Planner tries to select a project, he can only select projects where he is a Project Manager.

When clicking into the work plan, the Work Planner is not permitted to edit, since this is view-only permission.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/vXx60PpkMHQk7NM1VoGdFG9Vs4Zu7gtzJMWWrNB3EiBOJjy6nr8J4y4rjGf8TPqF7dRW5x4gaLE.png)

### **Workload Page**

Work Planner

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/mcPLSPa2aCByCCtuKKbI2HumdGT4sTaI4kzz79cedEnDwhUbAMEoJkDn3hGYFbWbJkqTDQKY9I2.png)

Admin

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/vYwzuP7HXfJhmMWIBHX6nxIVpOETZUHTXEtO9T3N9abEzBvfTGvAMnEz6SOvRVr56WnVsaUoX3Q.png)

The Work Planner will only be able to see work plans where he is a Project Manager of, in this example, the PM Project.

### **Reports Page**

Currently, the "Projects they are a Project Manager" setting will not affect the report; the Work Planner will still be able to view projects which they are not part of in the report.

For example, the Workload report below shows all the scheduled work plans for selected members for future dates.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/AzVP2e7bwQNvDm5xcccV4TlFZZL7lgeG2ZNe7OO5E7mcrMgumxTQF0nFk69HR3rqYDfQR9EXv4z.png)

## Projects they are a member (Can Edit) permission

All you can view will be the same as - View Only > Projects they are a member permission, but now you can make work plans for the members and edit existing plans.

## Projects they are a Project Manager (Can Edit) permission

All you can view will be the same as - View Only > Projects they are a Project Manager permission, but now you can plan for the members of the Project where you are a Project Manager.

You won't be able to edit or create work plans on the Project that you are just a member of.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/zR1GeqE0Y64u8ohIhO107eXkRemH7gzXLHpaED2SJyXCZHeUuAr9CZWeocEuIXJIGFxwypNcDmv.png)

## Project-Level Permissions

On the project level, the members can have "Project Manager", "View Only", and "Can Edit" permissions.

Even if you have the Work Planner with View Only > Projects they are a member permission on the organization level, if the project permission is "Can Edit," you will still be able to edit various aspects of the project, and vice versa. This includes modifying the Project name, description, Project number, Tasks, Phase dates.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/ieyZL9LrY0LTou7OIvunTrrOQKe7d7nJTuDfD0SbifKvzZ3ct5ZYfOgml69w1bEbki5jk8PifNO.png)

[See default settings for Work Planners](https://support.mosaicapp.com/en/articles/120-default-permissions.md)
