---
title: "Why are some Projects Private in Planner Space?"
description: "Learn about why some projects appear private in the Planner Space"
url: https://support.mosaicapp.com/en/articles/534-why-are-some-projects-private-in-planner-space
collection: "FAQs and Common Actions"
updated: 2026-09-22
language: en
---

# Why are some Projects Private in Planner Space?

Learn about why some projects appear private in the Planner Space

With our new Private Project feature, we've refined how Work Planners specifically interact with project - and work -plan - visibility.

Work Planners with the following permissions:

-   _Work Planner > Can Edit > Projects they are a member of_
    
-   _Work Planner > Can Edit > Projects they are a Project Manager of_
    

will now experience enhanced privacy and security. The Work Planners need to be either a Member or the Project Manager of the Project to see information on the Work Plans. This ensures that sensitive project information remains confidential and accessible only to the appropriate team members, promoting a more secure and focused project management environment.

> **Info:** Budget Managers, who inherit the Work Planner > Can Edit > All Projects permission, should always be able to see all work plans on the Planner and Workload pages.

You won't be able to select Projects that you are not a Member of or a Project Manager of.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/JaQ6kLPew7kZqJHTLGVGdOHyS2SA1wfTh5eMqJPO9dD5onMNj1Yjnr4w1rUrqly4EVWa5FPgHh1.png)

Click **View Availability** button

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/faUQa0uY4bRpH9gtpgQm3ZJ6qyrDwoWYfEgMS63l6rSoEv6FBqr71LKJP7TCBqJyXIY55fyiTXh.png)

You are able to view Availability of each Member of this Project. You will see Private Project if you are not a Member or Project Manager of that Project.

> **Info:** The bars should also be read-only, all dragging actions are disabled.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/tK7Jy1rie78Uhf5h9su2lov8zVJcs8Q7pQUrEdn9J8ePo3VuJbpKnEtFSvT7My4r2rqVjBr2u4O.png)

If a Work Plan appears private to you, you can hover over said Work Plan bar to see required the permissions for project viewing. For example, you may see the following reasons appear:

-   _Because you are not a Project Manager of this Project._
    
-   _Because you are not a Member of this Project._
    

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/QUz5hRyC56gySCnXxuVWim1mfE3sTgBXdkccxHtbHA1sqLvoqsph3qer4pX7G8p2UAJoaPHNEFZ.png)

> **Info:** You should always be able to see work plans assigned to you, even if you don't have work planner access to the project. However, you can only view work plans assigned to other members if you have work planner (or higher) access to the project.
