---
title: "What if I archive...? What are the side effects?"
description: "Archiving entities can have side effects on other data"
url: https://support.mosaicapp.com/en/articles/394-what-if-i-archive-what-are-the-side-effects
collection: "Mosaic FAQs"
updated: 2026-08-21
language: en
---

# What if I archive...? What are the side effects?

Archiving entities can have side effects on other data

### Discipline

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Member will be removed from this Discipline.
        
    -   Discipline will be deleted.
        

### Department

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Department will be deleted.
        
    -   Member added to this Department in Org settings > Members > Departments will be removed.
        
    -   Department will no longer show on the Org chart.
        

### Holiday

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Holiday will be removed from the heatmap and calendar.
        

### Member

-   Archive:
    
    -   Group Member will be archived.
        
    -   Archive the Member from all Portfolios, Projects, Phases, and Work Categories.
        
    -   Member's Work Plan will be archived.
        
    -   Department Member will be archived.
        
    -   Member Phase Budget will be deleted.
        
    -   Project Tasks Member Assignment will be deleted.
        
-   Delete:
    
    -   Role will be removed from the Member.
        
    -   Member will be removed from Time Off Policy group, Capacity group, Office.
        
    -   Member will be deleted from all Portfolios, Projects, Phases, and Work Categories.
        
    -   Department Member will be deleted.
        
    -   Member will be excluded from team utilization and team capacity count.
        
    -   Member will be removed from Workload and Planner Timeline.
        

### Office

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Member will be removed from this Office.
        
    -   Office will be deleted.
        

### Phase

-   Archive:
    
    -   Members in this Phase will be archived.
        
    -   Members in the Work Category under this Phase will be archived.
        
    -   Work Plans in this Phase will be archived.
        
    -   Invoice in this Phase will be archived.
        
    -   Subphases under this Phase will be deleted including billing category Phases.
        
    -   The Budget of Work Categories under this Phase will be deleted.
        
-   Delete
    
    -   Scope in this Phase will be deleted.
        
    -   Tasks in this Phase will be deleted.
        
    -   Description will be deleted.
        
    -   Work Category Members in this Phase will be deleted.
        
    -   Work Category Budget and Work Category Member Budget will be deleted.
        
    -   Work Plans will be deleted.
        
    -   Invoice in this Phase will be deleted.
        
    -   Subphases under this Phase will be deleted including billing category Phases.
        

### Portfolio

-   Archive:
    
    -   Projects will be archived.
        
    -   Tasks will be archived.
        
-   Delete:
    
    -   Projects will be deleted.
        
    -   Permission will be deleted.
        
    -   Group will be deleted.
        
    -   In addition, all the statuses, stages, and relationships between Projects and the Portfolio will be destroyed.
        

### Project

-   Archive:
    
    -   Work Plans will be archived.
        
    -   Tasks will be archived.
        
    -   The relationships between the Project and the Portfolio will be deleted.
        
-   Delete:
    
    -   Project Membership will be deleted.
        
    -   Phases and Work Categories will be deleted.
        
    -   Task Lists will be deleted.
        
    -   Group will be deleted.
        
    -   Notes and Note Tags will be deleted.
        
    -   Description will be deleted.
        
    -   Permission will be deleted.
        
    -   Timer will be deleted.
        
    -   Phase Members and Member Rates will be deleted.
        
    -   Work Category Member Budget will be deleted.
        
    -   Work Plans will be deleted.
        
    -   Skills and Disciplines associated with the Project will be deleted.
        
    -   In addition, all the Task statuses, Project statuses, and Client-Project relationships will be deleted.
        

### TO Policy

-   Archive:
    
    -   Cannot select this TO Policy on Members. No side effects on Members currently using this TO Policy.
        
-   Delete: No delete option.
    

### Rate Group

-   Archive:
    
    -   Cannot select this Rate Group in the Projects. No side effects on Projects currently using this Rate Group
        
-   Delete:
    
    -   Rate Group is deleted.
        

### Region

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Member will be removed from this Region.
        
    -   Region will be deleted.
        

### Role

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Member will be removed from this Role.
        
    -   Role will be deleted.
        

### Skill

-   Archive:
    
    -   Skill members will be archived.
        
-   Delete:
    
    -   Member will be removed from this skill.
        
    -   Skill will be deleted.
        

### Standard Capacity Policy

-   Archive:
    
    -   Cannot select this Capacity Policy on Members. No side effects on Members currently using this Capacity Policy.
        
-   Delete: No delete option.
    

### **Standard Milestone**

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Milstone cannot be selected in the Projects.
        
    -   Milstone will be deleted.
        

### **Standard Phase**

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Phase cannot be selected in the Projects.
        
    -   Phase will be deleted.
        

### **Standard Rate**

-   Archive:
    
    -   Cannot select the Rate on the Member.
        
-   Delete: No delete option.
    

### **Standard Role**

-   Archive:
    
    -   Role will be deleted and Not available to select this Role when setting Member Standard Role or Project Member Roles and when creating Unassigned Roles.
        
    -   Members added to this Role in Org settings > Members > Roles will be removed. However, existing Member Default Roles, existing Project Member Roles, and existing Unassigned Roles will remain unchanged.
        
-   Delete: No delete option.
    

### **Standard Work Category**

-   Archive: No archive option.
    
-   Delete:
    
    -   Work Category associated with a project will be archived and deleted.
        
    -   Work Category in the rate group will be deleted.
        

### Work Category

-   Archive:
    
    -   Members in the Work Category will be archived.
        
    -   Work Plans in the Work Category will be archived.
        
-   Delete
    
    -   Work Category Budget will be deleted.
        
    -   Members in the Work Category will be deleted.
